Question : SSL for a hosted application

I need to set up SSL on a hosted application that runs on my dedicated server. My programs are used by numerous customers and custom branded for their application.

Typically I set up a custom domain for them that I host on my "shared" IP address, with a domain name such as www.companyname-training.com (not real). They are then redirected to my programs that are on another IP address on the same server. Since the customer's domain name does not point to the correct IP, I use the IP address in the urls for my programs such as http://99.88.77.66/training/salestraining.php (not my real IP).

I an new to SSL, although I have been coding for many years, and I am a competent PHP programmer, I have just never had the occasion to use SSL. So please excuse the idiot questions.

I understand that I cannot use an IP address for SSL. I am told that I must use a domain name. Is that correct?

My programs are database driven, and the IP address is a variable, so it wouldn't be too difficult to change the IP address to a generic domain name for the affected programs. Could I use a generic domain name for all clients?

Do I need to create separate directories for the programs that use SSL, or can they remain with the current file structure, mixed with my standard programs? If yes, how do I set up the correct directory? Also, do collateral materials, such as images and .swf files need to be duplicated in the SSL directories?

I am running a dedicated server with CentOS 5 64 bit, Apache, WHM/cPanel and I use PHP5 for most programming.

NOTE: I am looking for coding suggestions, not how to set up an SSL certificate.

I'd appreciate your guidance.

Answer : SSL for a hosted application

There are 3 options here.