Question : Trouble adding a network printer (samsung clp-550N) to windows xp network

I am fairly new at networking printers directly to a router for use.  I am having trouble adding a working Samsung printer to an existing network.  I tried to "add a printer" and then selected Network printer, then searched for the printer; tried to type in what I thought was the \\servername\printername\; and also tried to do the http://192.168.0.102/ (printer's IP address) to get to the printer.  
Each time Win XP says it couldn't find the printer. Keep in mind that the printer is not connected to any computer with a USB or LPT port but is only connected to the Router with CAT 5 cable.  I CAN pull up a browser in any computer on the home network and type in 192.168.0.102 and access the printer and change it's name, print a test page, etc.  But there are settings in there that I don't know how to use such as IPP, WINS, etc.  I thought that all you needed to do was \\servername\printername in WIN XP to add it but maybe I'm using the wrong servername or whatever.  

Please let me know if/what I'm doing wrong...

Thanks,
J

Answer : Trouble adding a network printer (samsung clp-550N) to windows xp network

The manual is pretty worthless isn't it?  Have you installed the printer software on a PC?  It might create a samsung specific printing port to the printer as part of the setup.  Some printers do this.

I just read a Linux article related to this printer and it is a normal TCP/IP printer.  If the Samsung CD does not install a port for you try the following:  

1.  Start the Add Printer wizard
2.  Add a local printer, make sure autodetect printer is unchecked
3.  You are going to add a new printer port.  The type is TCP/IP printer.
when prompted enter the IP address of the printer.  It might like this and after a brief delay take you to the screen to select the correct print driver.